November 07

 It’s been such a busy few months, especially lately – the Qld quilt show in October  (I was a drop off lady so was transporting quilts to and from, first judging, and then the Show) and a couple of weeks ago I participated in a 3 day workshop with Jeannie Spears from the US on Quilt Judging – it was a great 3 days – the time flew and I learned much.
 
There are some new photos up – I have added a new Wedding quilt to that album, and created a new album with the art quilts I have managed to make this year – not many!! but it’s a beginning. I belong to a small group of Art quilters and our challenge this year was to create two identical quilt tops: one was passed on to two other members to change in whatever way they liked, and then it was returned to the owner. We then embellished and finished it. The other quilt top we were to change or not as we wished. We all changed our quilts, and we had a great time doing it! I have put photos of my two original quilt tops plus the two new quilts (The Next Step and Order Amid Change) in my new album 2007 Art Quilts, if you would like to see them. (To see the other quilts in the challlenge, go to http://reddyartquilters/spaces.live.com We had a display at this year’s Queensland Quilt Show and were demonstrating some of the techniques we had learned during the year. It was a great deal of fun.)
 
 The other two quilts are one started in 2004 which I finally finished with my fabric leaves and shells (Beachside Dreams) and my most "arty" quilt yet, which started as an experiment in discharge dyeing but became a "sampler" of surface embellishment using texture gel medium, shiva sticks stencilling, detached flowers and cords. Some of you will recognise the crumbs method of piecing – I used only scraps together with the green discharged dyed fabric…. and it was a great practice piece for my quilting as well!
 
I am currently working on another wall hanging which  started with a small piece of brown discharged fabric, with the colours cued from this, and again using scraps and the crumbs method of piecing – wonderful to break a few rules!!! I will post a photo when it is complete – but meanwhile we have Christmas and the summer holidays…. keep watching this space for more to come in the New Year!
 
Meanwhile have a safe, happy and holy Christmas, and may you be blessed with  time spent  with your family and friends.
Leave a Reply

