2015 – how productive were you?

Do you reach the end of the year and wonder: whatever happened to it? Where did the time go? Did you spend it well? How do you assess it?

An interesting exercise was to take a look at how little or how much I achieved in 2015 in the textile art world. My feeling was that I maybe had not accomplished a great deal particularly in the area of actual textile ART, even though I seemed to be constantly busy, juggling part time work, home duties, designing and sewing.

To find out, I made up a Timeline.

There was some time out in November , and a holiday in January, apparently, but for the most part, it was a pretty steady year… on analysis, I found there was a very real relapse into traditional style quilt making, part of my designing and writing patterns , and some experimentation with the new movement of Modern quilting. I guess the alphabet  can be counted as art….  and true art work was completed (although commenced in 2014) for the two exhibitions, and there were little forays into thread sketching  and quilting… example: my quilt for the Queensland Quilt Show 2015

What next?  The timeline proved just how much I did accomplish, and encourages me to tackle the new year ahead with 12 whole months in which to draw,  paint,dye, stitch, applique, and quilt.  My aspiration for 2016 is to set aside traditional quilting, and to create a number of landscape and seascape textile artworks, with the intention to  exhibit in 2017. And a new timeline at the end!

4 thoughts on “2015 – how productive were you?

    • Thanks Brenda! I wouldn’t have achieved half of it if you hadn’t been lighting fires under my feet!!! There was a bit of cheating with purchased patterns (the toys) and kits (the bags, purse and pincushion!!) but all for the sake of sanity!!

Leave a Reply

