THIS BUSY LIFE : making plans

Lately I have been between projects, having completed the first in a series for the 2017 RATG exhibition next year, entitled TEXTile Translations. So I can’t actually show you yet just what I have been up to there…. maybe a little hint with a detail might be allowed…. 

The next piece in the series is planned out but not yet commenced. I am very excited about this series based on photos taken whilst out canoeing on the creeks, rivers and lakes in SE Queensland and Northern NSW…08_IMG_2297

And meantime I have been persevering with learning a few Illustrator and Photoshop skills…. I have signed up with Skillshare for 12 months, and have done some excellent classes so far with Helen Bradley. Here is a glimpse of what I have learned so far…. more to come! (I am a bit of a slow learner, but live in hope!) Screen Shot 2016-04-24 at 3.33.26 pm

I have another little project in mind for using some of my designs… again I have to keep it under wraps for a little while! It’s quite different from my textile landscape and bird work! Suffice to say it promises to be a real adventure into 3D work for me! Then there is the possibility of fabric designs… dream on!

There are thoughts of one or two exhibitions into which it might be worthwhile submitting work  – we will see how that pans out in due course.

Not only that, another Cot/crib quilt pattern is in the pipeline! To purchase,  keep an eye out on facebook:  2SewTextiles , etsy and craftsy…..  The alpaca backing fabric is my own design…if there is enough interest I will consider making it available for purchase through Spoonflower.  I have simplified the quilt pattern from this original… fewer applique pieces… five clouds instead of seven, for example. Overall size is 36″ x 52″.

 

Leave a Reply

