Deviant (quilt) art

Lately I have been doing a bit of machine quilting…. In daily doses. But when you work for a while in those bland neutral fabrics, beige and white and taupe, a craving for colour develops, especially on dull and cloudy days such as today… One deviates from the task at hand (mastering  rulers ) and springs into temporary insanity… There is a new quilt in the pipeline, and the top is almost finished… But I have to be a secret squirrel on this one for a little while as I don’t want to show it off until the recipient to be has had first look! decisions needed to be made as to the back of this quilt. I needed to use up some of the “stash” and the front didn’t consume even half of the designated fabrics…. the remainder, I thought, could provide the back…. For a week now, I have been toying with ideas – I have a vast number of trial designs (now mostly deleted – there were more than 90…)  in my EQ program…. But nothing was satisfying…. And ok I could just throw the leftover rectangles and squares together – big blocks of leftover fabric, to keep it simple and quick, after all no one really looks at the back unless they are the quilt police! That was the logical, practical and sensible person’s solution. But I’m dealing with myself here, nothing too simple … Today I cut out and pieced  24, 9″ 9 patch blocks, black and white and coloured….

Tomorrow I am going to join them up with 24 9″ squares, (this actually looks fairly horrible)image

Then I am going to cut them all up again into 16, 12 inch blocks, and sew them back together….. This will be the back of the quilt…..

If in the end I don’t like it, or decide it’s actually too awesome to be the back of a quilt, I will simply turn it into a second quilt, and go out and buy a few yards of wide backing and be done in no time at all!!

Leave a Reply

